The AIPP 8th General Assembly delegates


Snapshots of the 8th General Assembly

The two-day 8th General Assembly of Asia Indigenous Peoples Pact commenced from the 25th of March, 2021 till the 26th of March, 2021.

Hosted under the theme of “Strengthening Our Movement Through Co-responsibility”, the event was held partially online and offline in Chiang Mai, Thailand due to COVID 19 related travel restrictions.

However, a full gathering of delegates from AIPP’s member organizations attended leading to active participation in the breakout session and key insights and data were shared from across regions.

Here are some of the key highlights of the two-day event:

  • Opening Ritual (Thai Members/Elders) – Mr. Joni Odochao (Karen) and welcome remarks by Outgoing Chairperson, AIPP and performance from the Akha community, Thailand
  • Solidarity Messages from:
  • Mr. Francisco Cali, Special Rapporteur for the Rights of Indigenous People
  • Ms. Anne Nuorgam, Chair, The United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues (UNPFII)
  • Ms. Kathrin Wessendorf, Executive Director, International Work Group for Indigenous Affairs (IWGIA)
  • Ms. Åsa Hedén, Counsellor, Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA)
  • Report from the Secretary General and Implementation of the Strategic Plan (2017-2020) and milestones and general findings and recommendations from the AIPP evaluation and discussion forum
  • Financial report for 2017-2020 and funding status, strategy sustainability strategy
  • Announcement and presentation of the New Strategic Plan 2021- 2024 followed by group discussions of 4 sub regions, Indigenous women’s group, youth and IPwDs groups, facilitated by respective EC members:
  • Mr. Binota Moy Dhamai/Ms. Suni Lama – South Asia
  • Mr. Kittisak Rattanakrajangsri/Mr. Sochea Pheaps – Mekong
  • Ms. Jacqueline Carino /Ms. Hilda Pius Modilo – South East Asia
  • Mr. Shisei Toma/Mr. Gam Shimray – East Asia
  • Ms. Elina K.Horo/Ms. Naw Ei Ei Min – Women
  • Ms. Chanda Thapa Magar/Ms. Mai Thi Yu Mon – Youth/IPwDs
  • Day 2 started with a report and presentation of key discussion points from each group, moderated by Ms. Jacqueline Carino
  • Followed by the announcement of the results of elections for 2021-2024 and confirmation of EC representatives from sub-regions, Indigenous women, Youth, SG, and Chairperson
  • Farewell speech by Speech by the outgoing EC members and Chair of the AIPP Advisory Board followed by the handing over and Oath taking ceremony by the new EC members
  • Remarks from the new Chairperson and Secretary-General (Vision and Future Plans) and Briefing on Phase II of the 8th GA (Physical Meeting) and Felicitation of Election Commission Members
Oath taking of the new Executive Council members
ChairpersonMr. Kittisak Rattanakrajangsri Inter-Mountain Peoples Education and Culture in Thailand (IMPECT), Thailand
Youth representativeMs. Chandra Tripura Bangladesh Indigenous Peoples Forum (BIPF), Bangladesh
Women representativeMs. Maslah Rampado Indigenous Peoples’ Network of Malaysia (JOAS), Malaysia
NE-India, India, Nepal, BangladeshMr. Pankaj Teron Karbi Human Rights Watch (KHRW), NE-India
Mr. Jagat Baram Nepal Federation of Indigenous Nationalities (NEFIN), Nepal
Ms. Mamta Kujur Adivasi Mahila Maha Sangh (AMMS), Mainland India
Malaysia, Indonesia, Philippines, Timor LesteMr. Ergilio Ferreira Vicente Covalima Youth Center (CYC), Timor-Leste
Ms. Beverly L. Longid KATRIBU Kalipunan ng Katutubong Mamamayan ng Pilipinas, Philippines
Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, BurmaMs. Nittaya Earkanna Indigenous Women’s Network of Thailand (IWNT), Thailand
Ms. Naw Ei Ei Min Promotion of Indigenous and Nature Together (POINT), Myanmar
Japan, TaiwanMs. Lin  Lin Su Hsin Papora Indigenous Development Association (PIDA), Taiwan
Secretary GeneralMr. Gam Awungshi Shimray Naga Peoples’ Movement for Human Rights (NPMHR), NE-India

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *