The Asia Indigenous Peoples Pact (AIPP) is a regional organization founded in 1992 by indigenous peoples’ movements. AIPP is committed to the cause of promoting and defending indigenous peoples’ rights and human rights and articulating issues of relevance to indigenous peoples. At present, AIPP has 46 members from 14 countries in Asia with 18 indigenous peoples’ national alliances/networks (national formations), 30 local and  sub-national organizations. Of this number, 16 are ethnic based organizations, six (6) indigenous women and four (4) are indigenous youth organizations and one (1) organization of indigenous persons with disabilities.

Indigenous peoples in Asia are fully exercising their rights, distinct cultures and identities, are living with dignity, and enhancing their sustainable management systems on lands, territories and resources for their own future and development in an environment of peace, justice and equality.

AIPP strengthens the solidarity, cooperation and capacities of indigenous peoples in Asia to promote and protect their rights, cultures and identities, and their sustainable resource management systems for their development and self-determination.

  1. To empower Indigenous peoples in Asia to promote and defend their human rights and fundamental freedoms and claim legal recognition to their identities, collective rights under UNDRIP and other international human rights instruments.
  2. To build the broadest solidarity and cooperation of indigenous peoples in Asia to strengthen indigenous movements.
  3. To promote and protect the integrity of the environment and enhance the sustainable resource management systems of indigenous peoples including their traditional knowledge, food security and biodiversity by having full control over their land, territories and resources.
  4. To attain full and effective participation of indigenous peoples, particularly indigenous women and youth at all levels of decision-making.
  5. To strengthen solidarity and cooperation with other social movements towards achieving equality, peace, democracy and justice.
  1. To serve as a forum for sharing aspirations, ideas and experiences, consolidating cooperation and solidarity and coordination for developing common agenda and programmes on issues affecting indigenous peoples in Asia.
  2. To enhance capacities of indigenous communities, organizations and institutions, including women and youth to respond to their concerns and issues at different levels.
  3. To develop programmes to conduct systematic documentation of the various issues and aspects of indigenous peoples for policy advocacy, awareness raising and information dissemination.
  4. To advocate the cause of indigenous peoples at all levels and engage with relevant national, regional and international processes as well as with relevant institutions and agencies.
  5. To strengthen linkages, networking and co-ordination with other organizations and movements for the realization of the aspirations of indigenous peoples of Asia

The General Assembly (GA), held every four years, is AIPP’s highest decision making body. The GA adopts the strategic 4-year program, approves policies, guidelines and resolutions and elects a 12-member Executive Council (EC), including indigenous youth and women representatives, the Chairperson and the Secretary General. The Executive Council, chosen from the different sub-regions, provides collective leadership to the organization through sharing of tasks and organizational representation. The Secretary General, directly accountable to the EC and the members, leads the Secretariat in the implementation of programme activities. The Programme Committees, Executive Council, member organizations and partner organizations are actively involved in programme implementation.

AIPP is mainly guided by its Constitution and by-Laws, Organizational Manual, Strategic Plan (2013 – 2016) as well as Gender, Anti-corruption and Finance Management Policies. Through the years it has demonstrated its good practices of transparency and accountability in the functioning of the organization.

Members Orgnizations
Countries in Asia
Indigenous Peoples' National Alliances/Networks (National Formation)
Local and Sub-national Organizations
Ethnic Based Organizations
Indigenous Women Organizations
Indigenous Youth Organizations
Indigenous Persons with Disabilities Organizations

Executive Council

MR. Kittisak Rattanakrajangsri


Inter Mountain Peoples Education and Culture in Thailand (IMPECT), Thailand

SOUTH ASIA: Nepal, India, NE India and Bangladesh

Mr. Jagat Bahadur Baram

Nepal Federation of Indigenous Nationalities (NEFIN)

Ms. Mamta Kujur

Adivasi Mahila Maha Sangh (AMMS), Mainland- India

Mr. Pankaj Teron

Karbi Human Rights Watch (KHRW), NE-India

Youth Representative

Ms. Chandra Tripura

Bangladesh Indigenous Peoples Forum (BIPF), Bangladesh

Women Representative

Ms. Maslah Rompado

Indigenous Peoples'Network Of Malaysia (JOAS), Malaysia

EAST ASIA: Japan & Taiwan/China

Ms. Su Hsin

Papora Indigenous Development Association (PIDA), Taiwan

MEKONG REGION: Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Myanmar (Burma)

Ms. Naw Ei Ei Min

Promotion of Indigenous and Nature Together (POINT), Burma

Ms. Nittaya Earkanna

Indigenous Women's Network of Thailand (IWNT), Thailand

SOUTH EAST ASIA: Malaysia, Indonesia, Philippines and Timor Leste

Mr. Ergilio Ferreira Vicente

Covalima Youth Center (CYC), Timor Leste

Ms. Beverly Longid

Katribu Kalipunan ng Katutubong Mamamayan ng Pilipinas (KAMP), Philippines

AIPP Foundation Board Members

Mr. Chupinit Kesmanee


Dr. Prasert Trakansupakorn


Mr. Samart Srijumnong


Mr. Sakda Saenmi


Dr. Narumon Arunotai


Mr. Lungam Luithui and Ms. Peingam Luithui


Ms. Jannie Lasimbang

Former Secretary General
(2004 - 2007)

Ms. Joan Carling

Former Secretary General
(2008 - 2016)

AIPP Secretariat


Mr. Gam A. Shimray

Secretary General

MR. Shree Kumar Maharjan

Deputy Secretary General

mr. Adrian Marbaniang

Executive Secretary

Ms.Tassanee Surawanna

Organizational Strengthening and Movement Building
Programme Officer


ms. Kamonphan Saelee

Administrative Manager

mr. Chumpol Bunpeng

Logistic Officer

ms. Honey



ms. Apinya Putipraisakun

Finance Manager

ms. Jarunee Sunpawaranont

Senior Finance Officer

Ms. Chanitsara Silachan

Finance Officer

ms. Pattaraporn Takam

Assistant Finance Officer

Ms. Wanpen Sindamrongsri

Finance Officer


ms. Nina J. Sangma


mr. Hpuji Nawng

ICT Officer


mr. Lakpa Nuri Sherpa


mr. Prem Singh Tharu

Programme Officer

ms. Pirawan Wongnithisathaporn

Programme Officer

Human Rights Campaign and Policy Advocacy

Ms. Guangchunliu Gangmei


mr. Frederic Wilson

Programme Officer

mr. Shohel Hajong

Programme Officer

mr. Dharmodip Basumatary

Programme Officer

Indigenous Women

ms. Pragyaa Rai


Regional Capacity Building

mr. Charu Bikash Tripura



ms. Srikaew Kunteng

Liaison officer